

## DECLARATION BY THE ELECTED MEMBERS OF THE OBT

## 6 September 2023

The undersigned, elected members of the National Judicial Council of Hungary (OBT), make the following statement in connection with the upcoming OBT elections. The OBT, which was formed on 30 January 2018, has been working continuously to strengthen judicial self-governance. To achieve this, the OBT has prepared several draft proposals for amendments to the cardinal laws governing the judicial system in recent years.

In accordance with these efforts, the OBT was pleased to welcome the judicial reform package that entered into force on 1 June 2023, as most of its provisions aimed at strengthening judicial self-governance and incorporated several of the OBT's previous proposals. However, under the transitional provision of the new law, the members of the OBT in office at the time of its entry into force were given the possibility to be re-elected to the OBT for the next term, in derogation from the general rule which has remained unchanged since 2012.

In this context, it is important to point out that the OBT has never initiated or urged that its members be eligible for re-election, as it has not been acting in individual interests, but to strengthen the role and status of the OBT as a body for the future. In this context, we also consider it necessary to recall that the OBT did not support the election of Dr. András Zs. Varga's nomination as President of the Kúria (Supreme Court), because his nomination was only made possible by two amendments to the cardinal law, which does not meet the constitutional requirement that the highest position in the judicial system should be held by a person who is independent of other branches of power and who appears to the outside observer to be impartial.

Personalised (ad hominem) legislation is not acceptable to us even if we were the beneficiaries of it. Therefore, as eligible members of the OBT, we declare that we do not wish to make use of the one-time re-election opportunity that is only available to us and not to former members of the OBT, which means that we will not accept nominations in the forthcoming OBT elections.

Dr. János Abért Dr. Balázs Barkóczi Dr. Eszter Bohli Dr. Ágnes Bucsi

Dr. Katalin Csontos Dr. Ildikó Deutschné Kupusz

Dr. Judit Fatalin Dr. Péter Kelemen Dr. Tamás Matusik Dr. Zsolt Pongrácz

Dr. Barbara Pusztai-Sznyida Dr. Zoltán Rochlitz Dr. Csaba Vasvári

(all signed with their own hands)